Dreaming in Character

Gwynne Jackson

Why I Entered #PitchWars

Leave a comment

Some days it seems like pitch contests are a dime a dozen. I’ve entered a few, but I certainly don’t enter them all. First, that’s too crazy. I’d be doing nothing but entering twitter-based contests. Second, I would saturate the market with my manuscript, which isn’t something I care to do.

So why Pitch Wars?

– It’s a positive contest. There’s no trash-talking the submissions or queries, only positive reinforcement for all participants.
– It’s authors helping authors because they want to, not because there’s anything in it for them.
– Brenda Drake, who runs the contest, seems like a right fine person. I don’t know her, but I like her.
– My manuscript is finished and polished. Good timing on my part! I had a query letter and synopsis ready also.

I’m of the mind set that says nothing ventured, nothing gained. Obviously I like my manuscript and am hopeful other people will like it too. If not, I’m no worse off than I was before I entered. It’s only cost a few weeks of my life where I haven’t been able to query, and that’s okay.

I don’t have any idea whether I’ll make it into the next round. If I don’t, I’ll keep plugging away on my own and cheer on those who did get selected. The whole process is such a subjective thing. Getting to be a part of something this lovely is a treat all by itself.

Good luck to everyone who entered, everyone who’s got a book, everyone who didn’t enter, and everyone who’s querying. Here’s to success and friendship all around.

Author: Gwynne Jackson

Novelist & writing mentor. Reader, photographer, cat mama, otter wrangler. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.