Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Life, the Universe, and Everything

Leave a comment

Some days, all you can do is borrow from Douglas Adams.

Seven days in a row now, I’ve woken up and said YEAH IT’S TIME TO WRITE.

Seven days in a row now, the universe has laughed and conspired against me. I know, excuses, excuses. I’ve always said family comes first, and I’ve had an overdose of family this past week. I will next week too, and the week after. I can’t change that. What I can change is my approach. Get up, get ready, and go to work without letting anything intrude on those precious few hours before the rest of the west coast becomes active.

I have ideas. Big ideas. I’ve been good and haven’t touched my Pitch Wars manuscript since submitting it, but come Tuesday I’ll be working on it again one way or another. I can’t wait. I have some big ideas of my own, and will hopefully get at least some feedback from a potential mentor.

(Me: “I’m going to get into Pitch Wars!”
5 Seconds Later: “I’ll never make it into Pitch Wars.”)

In the meantime, I have a manuscript from one of my critique partners to finish reading, and some work on Chapter 1 of my YA novel to do for next month’s critique group. I’m working on three books in my mind. Luckily they’re all different enough so there’s no overlap, and I can only really work on one at a time.

(Unrelated to writing, yesterday would have been my dad’s birthday. I miss him. I always promised to let him know what agents were looking for in a query letter as soon as I found out. I intend to keep that promise.)

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

