Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

I did some writing in 2016.

3 Comments

I’m not big on “my year in review” blog posts.

What the hell, though, right? We all do a lot of things all the time, every year. But since the point of this blog is for me to have a platform as a writer, I’m going to talk about that…mostly.

I rewrote a book for the fourth time.

Then that book made it into Pitch Wars, where I rewrote it a fifth time.

Right after that, I wrote a new book for NaNoWriMo. While I was working on my NaNo book I was also sending out requested material to Pitch Wars agents, and doing a bit of cold querying as well.

A lot of people were thrown by Election 2016. I’m usually fairly quiet about politics but ended up speaking out about it (mostly on Twitter). There are times and places to make one’s opinions known, but I can already feel myself withdrawing from public discourse on politics. It isn’t that I’ve stopped caring. Anything but. It’s just that I need to focus my efforts on other things for the time being.

Like writing. I’ve made some great new friends through Pitch Wars, and came out of that with a much better book than the one I had going in. I’ll keep working on it and with it, keep writing new things. I’m a pretty spotty writer, though: I need a bit of time to recharge. Especially if I’m going to veer away from the world I’ve been writing (and living in vicariously) to do something new. That will mean a change of pace, emotionally and mentally. It’ll probably be good for me.

But yeah, THREE BOOKS this year. The same one twice, and a brand new one. I’m pretty damn proud of that. And as I said on Twitter, that new book has some of my best writing yet. I’m proud of all of it.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

3 thoughts on “I did some writing in 2016.

  1. Fab post! Just rewrote a book for a second time lol! Merry Xmas 🙋🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

