Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

My Playlist

Leave a comment

If you’ve been following along, you know I wrote a novel that’s been workshopped in Brenda Drake’s Pitch Wars contest. My story takes place behind the scenes on a rock band’s road tour. It features roadies! rock stars! women in the industry! managers! fans! models, Irish wolfhounds, load-in, load-out, backline techs, tour buses, hotels, extravagance, heartbreak, heartache, lies, deception, true love’s first kiss… and oh, yeah, music. Even though I can’t share the music in my mind from my pretend rock band, I can share the real-world music pivotal to the story.

Each of the primary characters have their own theme songs. My main characters get two each, just because.

The Band
Johnny (lead guitars & vocals): Elvis Costello & the Attractions, I Wanna Be Loved

Simon (bass) – The Turtles, Happy Together

Brandon (keyboards) – Squeeze, Tempted

Matt (drums) – Sublime, Smoke Two Joints

The Crew
Jesse – Joan Jett, Bad Reputation

Jesse – Joan Jett, I Love Rock N Roll

Wes – Beck, No Complaints

Wes – Beck, Think I’m In Love

Mercy – Randy Newman, You’ve Got a Friend in Me

Taylor – Motörhead, We Are the Road Crew

X-Man – Jack Johnson, Breakdown

The Others
Sam – Blondie, One Way or Another

Marina – No Doubt, Beauty Contest

Deke – The Beatles, Money

Kelly – Meghan Trainor, All About That Bass

I also have a whole list of other songs that are either referenced in the book, used to be referenced in the book before I edited them out, or were inspirational during writing. To save on your bandwidth and sanity, I’ll just link them for you.

Jeff Buckley, Lover, You Should’ve Come Over
Mott the Hoople, All The Way From Memphis
The Sweet, The Ballroom Blitz
Bobby Comstock, Let’s Stomp
Bob Marley and the Wailers, One Love
Buddy Holly, Lonesome Tears
Little Richard, Long Tall Sally
The Byrds, So You Want To Be A Rock’N’Roll Star
The Who, My Generation
Eddie Cochran, Jeannie Jeannie Jeannie
Lenny Kravitz, Fly Away
The Specials, Nite Klub
Green Day, When I Come Around

Happy listening!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

