Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

The Road to Writer’s Block

8 Comments

I spend a fair amount of time wondering about this blog: who reads it, how useful it is, what I want to get out of it. I started it so I could have a space online to talk about my writing. I’d just been published in my first anthology and thought haha, I have made it! Now I have something worth saying! A few years later, neither anthology with my work is in print (although you can still find Dragonthology around and about on the net, either used or new, even if Happily Ever Afterlife seems to have vanished). I guess that makes me an unpublished published author? I don’t know.

It’s taken me a few years to admit it, but I don’t know that I have a whole lot of knowledge to impart that anyone who wants to be a writer can’t figure out for themselves except for this one simple truth: if you write, then you get more words. The more you write, the more words automagically appear. If you don’t write, guess what you get? Nothing. The more nothing I have, the more nothing I’m likely to have.

I call this my own personal road to writer’s block. It’s not a place I want to visit. When I’ve traveled there I sit and think about all the words I could be writing, but actually sitting down to do it starts to look like as faraway a goal as my elusive desire to be published used to. What a sad place to find myself!

Fortunately, the remedy is easy: just write. That’s it. It’s simple. Just write. The more I write, the more I want to write. The more I write, the more ideas I have for even more writing. The more I write, the better I feel. If you take one thing from this blog, make it this little gem of advice.

Does anyone else have writerly words of wisdom to impart? Chime in!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

8 thoughts on “The Road to Writer’s Block

  1. I know what you mean. I put off starting a website/blog for as long as I could, but when my 3rd poetry book was about to be released my publisher convinced me it was time to bite the bullet, so I did.

    Like

    • Thanks, Elise! I still can barely imagine that anyone is interested in my writing journey or process, but when I first got published I knew I needed a public blog, so I made this one. Here it sits… I sometimes think of having a dedicated website, but I’m not in a big hurry for that either.

      Like

      • Well, if you’ve visited my website (eliseskidmore.com) you’ll have noticed that the blog is often just small bits of poetry with my photos, or a few short shorts. I’ve tried to post *something* every week to ten days, but I do fall behind sometimes.

        Like

        • I know a lot of people who post on a schedule. Me, I can’t do that. I mean I could, but I prefer to fly by the seat of my pantaloons. I like your website. I sometimes think I ought to post more short fiction here, but I’ve been busier working on novel-length stuff than on the short pieces… although I did have a great dream I’ll have to write about sometime. I never know where inspiration will strike.

          Like

  2. All I can say is that you are definitely not alone on this one.
    Do you have posts about your books?

    Like

  3. I love your writing!! It’s so true the more you write the more words you have.
    Miss having you around Portland.

    Like

Leave a Reply

