Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

It’s Got Good Bones

4 Comments

I’ve been in a lull with my writing. Part of it is that I have so much to do that I become immobilized. Breathe, breathe, if I break it down into bite-sized chunks I can make this work.

Around Christmas I got a little bit of an unwelcome gift: the anthologies I’m published in both got pulled from the shelves. I’m no longer an actively published author (although I have copies of the books! I have proof!) and that took the wind out of my sails in a way I’d never expected. Every book has its shelf life, and ours were never best-sellers. The good news is that all the rights for my stories have reverted to me, so if I want to expand on The Case of the Bloodstone Dragon and turn it into what it wanted to be–The Curse of the Bloodstone Dragon complete with mythology and a crazy past and more of a future–I can do that.

It’s at the bottom of my list. So is doing anything with skateboarding angel Gabe and his less-than-aware charge Hans (basically, it’s Bill & Ted with a heavenly slant). Both were fun stories to write, and I’ll always be grateful to Untold Press for believing in me enough to publish my work.

I’m making my writing goals public for my own reasons. Most of these have to do with self-accountability and little else, but here goes:

1. Finish revising Finding the Ground, give it a better title, and start shopping it. Anyone up for a read? YA, near-future, heavy on sports, family (born and made), and teen angst…

2. Trash Version 3 of Better Backstage (too long, too many POV characters) and rewrite with only two voices. Potentially rename that one too! Out of all the manuscripts I’ve written, this story is closest to my heart… mostly because I lived so many bits and pieces of it back in the day. I know, rock & roll romances are a dime a dozen, but I still love this story and believe in it. I met so many characters when I worked in that industry, and I do mean capital-c Characters. A lot of them made it into the book.

3. Once that’s done, I can proceed with my latest, a sort of companion novel to Better Backstage told from a fan’s POV. I wrote the first chapter, I have notes, I keep finding inspiration for it, but I need to clean up its predecessor before I can run away with the next love of my life.

4. My NaNo novel is languishing. One of my critique partners (I’m looking at you, Ellen) says it’s her favorite of the pieces I’ve written, for mood alone. If I’m going to work on a murder mystery, though, I want to make sure it’s spotless and accessible, so it will require major rewrites. The bones are good. I’m sure they won’t stay buried forever.

I think that’s enough for now. I have a few other things in the works that are really only concepts at the moment. I keep pushing them back, because I already have too much to do.

P.S. WordPress, I really dislike the “improved posting experience.”

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “It’s Got Good Bones

  1. I know about being overwhelmed. It sucks. I’m FINALLY writing something after a lull of…far too long. No one has names yet, but it’s coming along slowly. Good luck on your writing!

    Like

  2. Hang in there, Gwynne! I’m sorry to hear about your anthologies being pulled. You have such great ideas that I am sure something is bound to click soon. Just keep going! If your revised YA is the one that I read the opening of, get it out there — such a great voice and concept.

    Like

Leave a Reply

