Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

#NaNoWriMo in Retrospect

2 Comments

It’s the most wonderful time of the year… when I can look back at November and decide whether or not the story I worked on every day for 30 days is worth its weight at all, or if it’s a load of rubbish that I need to chuck into the nearest bin (or desk drawer, or digital filing cabinet).

When the clock struck December I had about 57,000 words and a whole lot of disgruntlement. I mean, I was glad to have accomplished what I did, but the novel feels wrong. Like it’s off balance. I shared the first chapter with my critique group (by the way, everyone should have one of those! They keep you honest and on your toes*) and had that very same feeling of the voice being off-kilter confirmed.

I had no defense. I knew it was crap. But it was also a completely unedited first draft, one I hadn’t looked back at since November 2 when I finished that chapter. I know the strength in NaNoWriMo involves turning off our inner editor and simply letting the words flow. Last year I had no trouble with that. The year before, I had no trouble with that. But this year? Wow. I fought hard for every one of those 57,000 words… and it shows.

The novel has the working title The House on the Hill and the description is as follows: A long-dead actress is destined to rest uneasily… unless she can convince a seemingly unrelated group of people to put their heads together to solve her murder. It seemed like a good idea at the time, and during the course of those 30 days I made a lot of new fictional friends I never knew existed before. The format ended up being a story within a story, taking place at two different points in time. I really loved the past part of the story, but the present seems forced. So I’m going to shelve it for now, even though I know whodunit and how they whodunit, although I haven’t written that part yet. Maybe I’ll get back to it, but I have the distinct feeling that not all books are meant to be written.

In the meantime, today I remembered an idea I had for a novel I wanted to write, and realized this is the one I should have worked on for NaNoWriMo. Tonight, I started on it. I don’t know if this will be THE ONE or more fodder for the recycle bin, but I’ll find out. Check with me in a month or two.


* Are you a writer living in the East Bay? If you are, let’s talk.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo in Retrospect

  1. Who knows… Maybe your NaNoWriMo experience was a warm up for this next novel? Either way, wishing you the best of luck with it!

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m not sure it was warm-up, but whatever else, it was a welcome taskmaster getting me writing again. It’s been a strange year as far as writing goes, so I was glad for the bits of inspiration it provided.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

