Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

It’s almost November (or: how I #NaNoWriMo)

3 Comments

Over on Twitter, a friend asked if I had any tips for a first-time NaNoWriMo participant. This will be my third year doing NaNo, which hardly makes me an expert. It does help me learn a few things about myself and my writing process, and the ways I can push myself to take advantage of the sparkling creativity that’s so easy to brush to the floor most of the time!

That’s my purple-prose way of saying here are the tips I shared.

  1. Treat writing like a job. I get up in the morning, get dressed like I’m going to work, and sit down and write for two hours. There are a million ways to put off writing – that’s why I do mine first thing in the morning. That way I can procrastinate on all the other things in my life…once I’ve made my word count.
  2.  

  3. I set my own word count goals. To complete a NaNo “novel” the goal is 1667 words a day, but we all know a 50k novel is a little on the short side. If you want a longer first draft, up your word count goal. It’s not as difficult as it seems! When all else fails, I look at my writing as a series of 100 words at a time. I can write those all day long, so doing 20 of them is not a big deal.
  4.  

  5. Don’t stop and edit. Just write, every day. The goal is to come up with a first draft, not a finished novel. That’s what the rest of the year is for.
  6.  

  7. If you can find a cheerleader willing to read your words every day or week, that’s a great way to motivate yourself to keep going. Not a critique partner, just a cheerleader who’ll tell you they love your work and can’t wait to read more.
  8.  

  9. Peruse at least one of the forums on the site, either in your age group or genre, but don’t let it suck up all your time. (Don’t be cowed by the people who claim to have huge word count achievements! I’ve seen people say they got to 50k words the first day. To each their own.)
  10.  

  11. A lot of people approach NaNo as if it’s going to consume their every waking moment for the whole month. I’ve never found this to be true: I get my stuff done, then have a perfectly normal life the other 22 hours of the day. (The hype around being too busy at NaNo to do anything but eat badly and leave the house a mess is just that, hype. We’re writers. We know that 1667 words a day is absolutely achievable. In fact, this post is already over 350 words. We write in prolific ways all the time without stopping to count!)
  12.  

  13. The one thing NaNo does for me (besides let me tell stories I don’t plot out or go into with much more than vague ideas most of the time) is get me into the habit of daily writing. In my case I don’t sustain it for the other 11 months of the year, but I do use that time for editing and helping my critique partners and for writing queries and loglines, summaries and tip sheets.
  14.  

That’s about it. Not too bad, right? If you’re going to try to write a complete first draft in a month, be sure to take deep breaths and appreciate yourself for your word count output in November! Good luck! I’m an excellent cheerleader if anyone needs one. Add me to your buddy list and then drop me a line. I’ll be sure to return the favor.

If you have any tips to add, I’d love to hear them. What works for you doing NaNo?

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

3 thoughts on “It’s almost November (or: how I #NaNoWriMo)

  1. These are all GREAT suggestions. I especially like the one about getting dressed to “go to writing work.” Good luck with NaNo 2015!

    Like

Leave a Reply

