Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

OK, I think I’m ready.

4 Comments

Commence querying…now.

I can either send out a few on a Friday afternoon, or obsess over it all weekend. I’d rather not spend my weekend obsessing, Of course, if I send out queries now, I’ll be jumping every time I get an email notification.

To make a long story short, there is no best time to send a query letter. We all knew that, right? Right.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “OK, I think I’m ready.

  1. I solved the jumping at every email problem by creating a new email account that isn’t link to any of the others. I have to log out of my ‘family’ email and into my query email. It helps a lot.

    But there’s no good time to query.

    Good luck!

    Like

    • Aha, good idea! Actually, I’m fairly calm about it after a day or two. I also (sadly) always expect the worst, because that way I can only be pleasantly surprised.

      I’m thinking that there are probably better and worse times to query, but the formula is so archaic and impossible to figure out that I might as well just do things when I decide to do them. Why not, right? My bottom line is that if a story just sits on my hard drive and I don’t query it at all, I have zero chance at anything good happening with it.

      Like

      • The only downside of the logout/login system is that I have to check intentionally. Honestly, I expect nothing. Not requests or rejections. I simply throw pebbles into the sea hoping it fill it up… or something. The only thing I dislike really is getting a rejection from an agent I don’t remember. hee.

        I figure the best time for me to query is when I’m in the head space to query. And now that I’ve been sending them for a month and a half or so, I don’t find it so bad or stressful. Like folding laundry. Will I put it off sometimes? Yeah, but it’s also kind rhythmic, and I feel much better when it’s done.

        But, the first or second week I was querying and agent I really liked was getting ready to close to unsolicited queries for a few months. I put together the requested material. It ended up being one of my first real rejections. Now, I did learn that I kind of prefer a no email to no response, but that’s a game right now. I also decided that I was going to stick with my query sending strategy. I makes me feel more in control, which is in short supply while querying.

        Like

        • Control sure is in short supply during the query process. I like to send out a new one whenever I get an R so I have a fair handful of queries out at any time. That doesn’t make hitting the SEND button any less… well, not frightening, the process doesn’t scare me. I guess it’s more a case of stage fright. Nerves. What if they don’t like me? Well, I’m no worse off than I was before! There hasn’t been anything written that’s universally loved, and there never will be. Everyone’s a critic, and everyone has an opinion. That’s fine. It’s good. It’s all part of the game.

          Like

Leave a Reply

