Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

I can’t be the only one who does this, can I?

Leave a comment

Writing is an extension of acting for me, and I’ve always been a method actor. Obviously I’m not going to do everything my characters do (that would be stupid), but when I write them, I have to feel what they’re going through. If I can’t channel that aspect of the character, I can’t write them convincingly.

I’m not alone in this, right? I mean, making up characters and holding the baton that dictates their lives is a little bit crazy to start with. I guess there’s no harm in adding more to it.

On Twitter the other day, I said sometimes it’s hard to be myself when all these other characters want their turn in the spotlight, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I meant it. I love what I do.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

