Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

I love writing.

8 Comments

I was sitting here reading over today’s words and was happily struck by how much I love writing. I love the world I created, the characters who inhabit that world, their circumstances and quirks and imperfections. I’m having such a blast with this book that I smile when I read it, and that’s not something that always happens.

It isn’t that I sit around patting myself on the back, being too self-congratulatory. I did have a moment, though, and I figured that was worth sharing. It’s times like this that remind me why I do what I do, and remind me that the act of creating something new can be so much fun.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

8 thoughts on “I love writing.

  1. Like those days when you reread something for a few days or weeks ago, and you think… “Wow, I wrote that.” And I appreciate it more because it doesn’t happen every day. Today was not one of those days, but I always love writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some people say writing is work. It can be, but more often than not it’s pure enjoyment. The thing I’m working on now is a rewrite and usually those aren’t so fun for me, but this one is just making me grin like a kid. I’ll take it.

      Also, I love that moment where I get to say “wow, I wrote that!” Here’s to it.

      Like

      • Honestly, I think one of the things I love best about writing is the work. But I like the second, third, etc, rounds of edits more than I like the struggle for the first set of words because fixing the pieces that didn’t work gives me so much joy.

        Like

        • Aha, I’m the opposite. When the words are flowing I adore the first draft stage. You’re right about fixing the pieces that didn’t work, although I’ve learned the hard way that I always have to keep true to my vision for the story instead of trying to accommodate someone else’s vision for it. When it clicks, it clicks and it’s a beautiful thing.

          Like

  2. Those moments matter so much. One of several reasons I write because I want to read it when it’s done and be able to read it again and enjoy it.

    Like

  3. Grab onto this moment, and the next time you aren’t happy with your writing for that day, come back to this blog and remind yourself that those words will turn into these words that you loved so much 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

