Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Smashing Writer’s Block

5 Comments

Generally, I don’t believe in writer’s block. Because I’m self-critical, I look at it as just being lazy. By now, though, I ought to know myself well enough to understand that when the words aren’t flowing–when they feel like pulling teeth–it’s because I’m forcing the writing. I know how it feels to write with sheer joy. I know how it feels to love every nuance and every new plot twist.

Today, I had a terrible day on a personal level. It wasn’t what I wanted at all. I didn’t get a chance to do any writing, I’m exhausted, I’ve been attending to unexpected but necessary things, and all I wanted to do was come home to write. When I finally got home, did I write? No, not unless email counts.

BUT.

As I was sitting here feeling exhausted, it was EPIPHANY TIME. Not only did I finally acknowledge that I was forcing the issue, I unlocked the key to making the book so much better than it already is.

Now I’m excited. Now I can set my alarm and get up in the morning eager to write. All it will take is a little bit of plotting and planning, and I’ll be good to go.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

5 thoughts on “Smashing Writer’s Block

  1. :hugs: I have those days. I figured out for me it was always time to percolate instead of scribble. Though there’s the occasional just take time off because overworked/burned out.

    Like

    • But I’m having so much fun! I’m almost to 10k on the rewrite already, and I’m thinking the multiple POVs are going to add so much depth to the story. Also, they’ll let me stick to the original outline, more or less, but I can finesse the plot this way. Score.

      Like

  2. If you can take a break, it might help. But it sounds like you are back on track!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo, Day 28 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

