Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Strange Things Are Afoot at the Circle-K

2 Comments

(Now I need to rewatch Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure).

I’m 0-for-2 on pitch contests, but that’s okay! Even though rejection is my middle name, I’m forging bravely ahead. I’ve got a profile and pitch up at WriterPitch, which just went live today.

(I had a dream last night that no one will ever want to read my work. Stressed much?)

Tomorrow, I’m signing up for a SCBWI workshop, and I might try to get into a “first five pages” workshop this month. Half the time I think I picked the wrong vocation: I don’t compete well against others. I compete beautifully against myself, of course.

Regardless, I’m in “never say die” mode. If you do look at my WriterPitch stuff, please let me know. It’s tough thinking it’s out there but the only thing staring back is the void itself.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Strange Things Are Afoot at the Circle-K

  1. It’s a tough game. And we love being supportive, so it’s hard to turn around and then try and differentiate yourself. But you find some really awesome people at the same time – so it’s not just sharing the love, it’s building it. I still think you are brave for entering and your query will only benefit from your persistance. Good luck!

    Like

    • It’s always been my belief that we get back what we give at least threefold. As you said, we love being supportive. I read all the time about people being jealous of someone else’s success. Not that I’m some strange breed or anything, but I am genuinely thrilled for each and every friend/associate/compadre/hi-I-barely-know-you-on-the-Internet-person who eventually gets to share their writing success story.

      However, I don’t like to wait and see if something will fall into my lap. That means getting out there and submitting or querying. It means getting up every time rejection kicks me in the shins and trying again. There are many roads to publishing, and only one of them has that shiny agent prize at the end. It’s the route I’ve chosen to pursue, but other people may succeed in different ways. I’m so happy for all who do.

      This is one place where it helps to know our own strengths and weaknesses, that’s for sure. Thanks for the well wishes (#PitMad ahoy!), and good luck to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

