Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

#PitchPlus1, #PitchMadness, and #AgentMatch

2 Comments

Happy Friday, everyone.

My philosophy still stands that a story sitting on a hard drive can be the best thing ever written, but if it stays on the hard drive and no one gets to read it, is it still snowing in Boston? The futility of not sharing our words with other people is one of the most dangerous pitfalls of being a writer. It’s so easy to second-guess and be filled with doubt over the worth of our stories. Honestly, if no one ever gets to read those words, it’s just a black hole of despair, etc.

I’ve been polishing this novel I’m pitching (and I have to crow and say I’m really proud of distilling all 300+ pages down into 150 words for a pitch) until I’m sick of it but still loving it. I’ve also been sitting in on Twitter chats with agents (I know, look at me actually using social media in ways it was intended) and coming up with a lot of valuable information. It’s also helping me narrow down that big list of people I’m interested in querying. But contests and the like:

#PitchPlus1
I entered Pitch Plus 1, where you’re judged on your novel’s pitch and first page (up to 250 words). I made it past the first round (with some lovely comments from the judges) and now my pitch and first 250 are up at the contest website for all to see. If you’re so moved to leave a comment or constructive criticism there for me, I would appreciate it! ♥

#PitchMadness
I also entered Pitch Madness, because why not? This one’s your 35-word logline (“hook,” they call it, much to the dear Captain’s dismay) and first 250 as well. Got something polished and ready to enter? It’s hosted by author Brenda Drake, and you have a couple days to get your entry in there. This is a huge contest with no limit on the number of entries, so the odds of making it through are small. But small > none in my book.

#AgentMatch
Also, if you’re interested, Samantha Fountain (@Fountainwriter) is putting together a sort of pitch gallery. If you follow along on the #AgentMatch hashtag, you’ll find out when she’s accepting new people for the launch in 2 weeks. She’s described it more or less as a dating service for authors and agents, where they can peruse each others’ profiles and reach out to see if there’s interest. The info for that is here. This is from the email Samantha sent me:

As I developed Agent Match I started to realize how equally important it is to agents and writers alike to find their right match.

I’m beyond excited to announce AWESOMENESS in the making that will connect agents and writers in a fashion like never before. The big launch is roughly 2-4 weeks out. Right now under the hashtag #AgentMatch I’m running contests for writers to get their manuscript pitches into the launch. I’m taking six profile and pitch entries a day and they will be plugged into the LAUNCH for the day we go live. After that writers are free to sign up and create their own profiles for agents to search and be able to search for agents.

If that sounds like something you’re interested in, follow along! Note that after the launch, enrollment will be open. If you want to be involved and have your profile up by launch time, you’ll need to play along with her on Twitter. Good luck!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “#PitchPlus1, #PitchMadness, and #AgentMatch

  1. I received some pretty daunting feedback from an editor critiquing my query and have decided to step back on the contests. I’m yet to send out my MS and I worry that spending my time on contests when I’m not hitting the mark is not helping my confidence. But I will say this – without these contests, I would never have known how flat my hook and blurb were. And if I had sent out those on my query, I wouldn’t be giving myself the best chance possible. So I do think they are extremely valuable 🙂

    Like

    • I wrote a query once. I thought it was pretty good. I even had a request for a partial from it, so I used the same one with Agent Match and had zero requests. None of the participating agents were in my target group, but I still felt bad about being ignored. Then I asked for help with it from a fellow writer and started to see all the holes in it. I’m still working on that one! Literary fiction is a tough sell, though.

      It takes a suit of armor to weather all the criticism (even if it’s constructive) from people out there. Right now in Pitch Plus 1 I’m getting a little bit slammed. It’s good to know what pieces are confusing to people, though. I like my pitch and I’ve had good responses to it, but it just goes to show that there’s no one thing written that everyone will like, understand, or appreciate.

      Sometimes, daunting is good. It gives us a place to stretch toward. Other times, though, it makes me want to hibernate for a few days until I feel brave enough to tackle the job and face the world again. I’d venture to guess a lot of writers feel the same way. Just because rejection and criticism are constants doesn’t mean we ever become immune to them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

