Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

I’m So Lucky!

Leave a comment

In all the talk of writing and querying and participating in Twitter pitch contests, there’s one person who’s been there for me through every single step. Even though I’m not getting any matches (literary is a tough sell, and I’m stuck between thrillers and romances–congratulations to everyone who’s getting matched!) I still feel like the luckiest writer in the world.

You see, I have my own personal cheerleader. In my case it’s my friend Juli, who’s wonderful, kind, generous, and reads everything I write. She’s my ideal first reader: she absorbs what I’ve written and gives me feedback at the end. She’ll tell me what works for her and what doesn’t, but she always has kind and constructive things to say. She was there with me every day during NaNoWriMo — I’d send her the day’s work each evening, and that made writing the story so much more fun. Knowing she was there to share the excitement and thrill of something hot off the presses gave me the impetus I needed to keep going day after day.

I wish you all a Juli of your own (mine’s taken, sorry!) Thanks, Juli! ♥

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

