Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

My characters are jealous of each other.

Leave a comment

You’ve got a story, or a novel, or maybe three. The one you’ve been working on most recently is by all means your favorite. You love it to pieces, love the characters, are invested in their well-being and their future… and then a nagging voice from beyond says but what about me, that novel you almost but didn’t quite finish? You put me away to percolate, but guess what? The pot is boiling and it’s about to overflow. Come rescue me!

I’ve never been that great at prioritizing. Trying to do everything at once isn’t the best way of getting by, but a bit here and a bit there? Why not? Part of it is the very real worry of losing a character’s voice and momentum if I put them aside to work on something else. Part of it is an in-my-brain pseudo dating jealousy among my characters (“she likes ME best, so there!”). It’s bad enough when it’s just one book, but three? I have an entire geography rattling around in my brain. I tell myself, “maybe if I get to Continent A I can spend enough time there to finish one quest, then I can move on to…”

It’s like a video game with multiple storylines, and I have to decide which to tackle first. This is not the least pleasant scenario I can imagine, but it’s awfully crowded!

Crowded. That’s the title of another book I was going to get back to. Hmm, maybe if I squeeze a little time away from my latest…

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

