Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

My Beloved Writing Resources

Leave a comment

Like a lot of writers I know, I can spend time doing anything but writing and editing when I set my mind to it. I thought I’d share some of my favorite writing resources: they make me feel less guilty about not writing/editing, because they’re at least tangentially related.

Scrivener (@ScrivenerApp) – I guess this isn’t really a cheat, because it’s my favorite program for writing. Why? Because it forces me to be a lot more organized than I’ve ever been before, and it makes it easy as pie for me to stay that way. I first tried this for NaNoWriMo in 2013 and bought the program as soon as NaNo ended. Now I’m hooked. I won’t use anything else. (Maybe this paragraph ought to be titled Confessions of a Long-Time MS Word User or something.) As a bonus, how great is the company name Literature and Latte?

Novlr (@novlrtweets), a program that’s currently in beta, is for those of you who don’t want to waste any time being distracted and prefer to get straight to work. This is a bare-bones word processor that you can access from any computer or tablet with Internet connectivity. In some ways it’s similar to Google Drive, but there are fewer formatting options and it’s really geared toward just getting your words out instead of playing around with fancy effects. I will take this opportunity to remind you that the program is in beta and I’ve had some problems with it, specifically related to connectivity. There is currently no “work offline” option, so you have to be online to use it. But it works, and I haven’t lost a project yet.

Write-Track (@Write_Track) is an online writing community where you post writing goals and dreams, and then (as advertised) keep track of them. I’ve never met such a lovely community of writers as I have here. It takes a little bit of getting used to, and all the tutorials are video versions which drives me a little bit mad, but it’s easy to use and the people behind it are dedicated to its continual improvement. Stop by and visit me there if you want, and join my writing community. If I were pitching it to an agent, I’d say it’s Twitter meets Tumblr, only far greater than the sum of its parts. I love it!

♥ I don’t need to mention WordPress, because you’re here. (Hi, Ma, I’m avoiding editing right now!)

♥ Last but never least is Query Tracker (@QueryTracker), which bills itself as a “Free online database of literary agents and associated blog for writers seeking representation.” It’s really more than that; there are many databases out there with lists of agents. This one lets you be so organized (there’s that concept again) that it’s frightening. It’s got superb search and project management options in its paid version, and a subset of the same (for one project only) in the free version. Love, love, love.

What are some of your favorite writing-related writing resources? Tell me what you love that I might have missed.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

