Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

R&R

Leave a comment

Revising and rewriting is, oddly enough, a whole lot of fun right now. It’s usually something I dread. When the story’s told, I’m done with it. Only this time I’m trying to be quite professional, doing a thorough job of things.

I set out in November with the express goal of writing something marketable. I did a pretty good job, but the first draft was a first draft, more proof-of-concept than something with meat on its bones. Now I’m going back and making stew out of it, I guess.

For a few weeks I denied it, dreading the process, dreading what seemed like the drudgery of redoing something I’ve already done. See, I forgot that editing means taking the opportunity to write new material, and I live for writing something new.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

