Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Process, Process, Process

Leave a comment

After editing the story for the hundredth time, I'm apparently overcome by exhaustion. To be fair, I did hike three miles in the canyon today too.

After editing the story for the hundredth time, I’m apparently overcome by exhaustion. To be fair, I did hike three miles in the canyon today too.

There’s something so wonderful about the editing process. I’m a former professional technical editor, proofreader, and copy editor so this is all dear to my heart. I always have to keep these things in mind during my editing sweeps:

– No matter how closely I read something, errors will get through. My personal biggest recurring crimes are comma abuse, overusing the word “just,” and throwing in too many phrases like “pretty much” or “kind of.” The other one is word repetition (the thesaurus is my friend!).

– Every time I read something I wrote, I’ll want to change things around. That means I’m never quite satisfied, but I eventually get to a place where things really are pretty good, or good enough.

– I have to read my own work in multiple formats. I write using Scrivener. I read there, in MS Word, and via my Kindle app. It’s amazing to me what kinds of things I find in different programs, including the I thought I already fixed that more than once edits that never fail to populate my screen. If it wasn’t so horrid for the environment I’d print everything out double-spaced and go through it with a red pen too, but I’m trying to be kind to Mother Earth.

– When I get to the point that my inner voice says not again, don’t make me read it one more time I know it’s time to stop for a while, take a step back, and give my editing eyes a break. Then I’ll spend days setting up a list on Query Tracker while nervously waiting for feedback from my critique partners.

I haven’t ever asked for readers here on WordPress. I like keeping my work close to the vest until it’s time to let it out to play. I used to have a number of critique partners, although many of them have disappeared. I’ll probably be looking for another one or two. If you’ve got any interest at all, please let me know.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

