Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Writing

2 Comments

Some random thoughts on writing.

I want to start something new, but I haven’t even really edited the last thing I wrote. Of course I went through and did a very preliminary review for spelling and grammar, but I haven’t gotten into the part where I take the guts of the story and twist them around and wring out all the excess moisture. I’m waiting on my first reader’s reaction before I pick up the axe.

There are two things I miss about NaNoWriMo: writing every day because it’s expected of me, and the stats graph that serves as a marker of my progress. I’ve always claimed I don’t do as well in structured environments, but I’m not so sure that’s true. However, when I finished with NaNo I didn’t feel some kind of emptiness any more than I felt a huge relief. I enjoyed the process of it, I enjoyed what I wrote. Can I set those same expectations on myself any time I want? Of course. Should I? Probably.

I’m always in love with the book I’m working on, and the characters in that book. When I move on to something new, it’s always with a bit of regret. I’m not very good at farewells. Maybe that’s why so many people write sequels. When a story’s told, though, it’s told. That doesn’t mean it can’t be revisited later in any of a grand number of ways.

Of course, I need some down-time. These last couple weeks of the year are my time to absorb other media: read a bunch of books, watch a lot of movies, listen to all my favorite music. Although like most writers I never really take a complete vacation from work (I’m not just dreaming in character most days), it’s good to turn my attention to other things for a while. I suppose until I can’t stand not to write any more, I’ll be cruising along in this mode.

But… after I get my first round of feedback, I will be looking for early readers if anyone’s interested. More details will follow. In the meantime, my virtual bookstack on my e-reader is so high I can barely see over it.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Writing

  1. I’m interested. How long is it?
    LL

    Like

Leave a Reply

