Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

How Would You Describe Yourself as a Writer?

4 Comments

This is something I’ve been thinking about quite a bit lately. If I have to pick five words or phrases to use to describe myself as a writer (not to describe my writing, that’s something completely different), what would they be?

1. Undisciplined. The reason NaNoWriMo works so well for me is that it forces a layer of discipline I don’t usually have. I set my own goal, 2k words a day, and found that it was an eminently reasonable goal. Of course, part of the reason I think of myself as an undisciplined writer is that I’m currently editing instead of writing, so the 2k-per-day goal has to fall by the wayside. I suppose if I replace it with a different and more relevant goal, I’ll be able to push myself just like I did during November.

2. Organic. By this, I mean that I work at my best when the writing comes together organically, rather than by force. I can work with outlines, but I like it better when the wind blows my writing a certain way. I suppose I could also define myself as a flexible</b writer and mean largely the same thing.

3. A Perfectionist. Perfectionism is not a writer’s best friend! It puts a damper on the writing process, but I spent so much time as an editor that I can’t let things go. I will always go back and correct errors.

4. A Procrastinator. I’ve mentioned before that to me, editing during the writing process is my favorite form of procrastination. I can blame this on #3, being a perfectionist, but if I can put something off I probably will. My biggest enemy is the thought that I just don’t feel like writing. I am constantly pushing back on that and striving to go for it, even when I’d really rather not, thank you.

5. I may have made a deal with the devil for inspiration. Not really, of course, I haven’t sold my soul yet. I’m big on those lightning-strikes moments, however. It’s detrimental, but I tend to wait for them. I like it when the magic happens. Unfortunately, the price I pay for that is a surfeit of sadly non-magical moments. I guess we all suffer from those.

How do you describe yourselves as writers? Should I even bother to do this exercise again, but describe how I see my writing rather than my process?

[In unrelated news, hello to all of you who’ve just started following my little corner of the blogosphere! I’m glad to have you along for the ride. Don’t be shy!]

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “How Would You Describe Yourself as a Writer?

  1. I think that I am kind of Organic can go any direction as long as the story I’m telling is told.

    Like

  2. I’m the procrastinator and when I am not thinking about doing it I am researching myself into a hole that I need a ladder to get out of. I always forget to take the ladder.

    I think it’s a great idea to revisit these things often, at least the procrastinator in me thinks it is and the researcher wants to investigate more.

    Like

    • I have a secret love affair with procrastination. If I can possibly put a task off to another time, I’ll do it… but generally only if it’s something for myself. If it’s for a friend or family, I’ll jump on it right away. In writing, research and revision are two of my favorite methods, and I can convince myself that doesn’t really equal procrastination because I’m doing something,, just not the something I’d meant to do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

