Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

On Editing

2 Comments

Editing and I have a love/hate relationship. I mean, we like to go to the beach and stroll along the water’s edge together, but we don’t always want to be holding hands.

For me, the process of editing really helps me understand how much I either like or loathe a book-in-progress. What I’ve learned is that generally, the ease of the editing process is in direct correlation to the ease with which I wrote the story. If it’s something I struggled to put on the page, the editing is bound to be just as tough. If the story flowed, the editing will flow too.

Maybe this isn’t a good thing, I can’t tell. It is a piece of the writing puzzle I take very seriously. Who hasn’t read a badly-edited book? Even one from a seasoned professional? We can always do more work on our own writing.

This is why I rely on first readers and critique partners, beta readers, and so on. There’s a whole procedure before I can declare something finished. We’re supposed to make our books the best we can; I’m all for that. I’m almost afraid of how enamored I am of this one I’m working on now. We all know what they say about something that seems too good to be true…

Wish me luck.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “On Editing

  1. I love editing! It can be tough (and annoying in the case when I have to convert written edits to the computer) but it’s a lot easy than writing, in my opinion. It’s a bit like math. Take out the errors, add more description when lacking, fixing problem areas. Just go through chapter by chapter to polish it to ready it for publishing. It’s almost soothing to get it all edited and fixed up πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

