Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Thank You, November

6 Comments

…and thank you to everyone who’s followed along with me during this year’s NaNoWriMo.

If I take one thing away from this experience, it’s the satisfaction of completing the challenge. Somewhere along the line I realized that writing 2000 words a day isn’t really that hard for me. I ended up at about 70k, but counting words is only one way to measure and I’ve long argued that it’s not really the best way. Anyone can write words. The question becomes whether or not the words are good ones. Whether or not they further the story in significant ways.

Now for the hard part. I do have a novel-length something, but it’s nowhere near ready for sharing. It’s rough and it’s filled with plot holes a mile wide. What that means is (and say this with me, everyone who worked on a story this November) onward to editing and rewriting while our worlds and their inhabitants are still fresh and exciting for us.

I do think my story has potential, but only time (and critique partners) will tell. For all of you who came here via NaNoWriMo, I’m so glad to have met you! I’m happy to follow your continued progress and cheer you on in any way at all.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

6 thoughts on “Thank You, November

  1. Congrats and hope to read for you soon! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

