Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Why We Write

3 Comments

Maybe I should have titled this post Why I Write, because I certainly can’t speak for anybody else. Here’s the thing, though: I woke up this morning thinking wow, I’m writing this story. Up until two days before NaNo started, it wasn’t even so much as a gleam in my eye. Over the course of the past month I’ve come to know my characters, their circumstances, the story of the book. I have notes about where I thought it was going to go at first. Reading those notes now makes me giggle: if I used those plot points now, they would seem so contrived. It’s a case of live and learn.

Back to why I write, though. I’ve got this story and a month ago I’d never so much as imagined it. At this point my novel-to-be is incredibly rough. It’s filled with inconsistencies, little tears in the fabric of the tale that need to be mended. These are all things that can be fixed, because the bones of the story are pretty solid. I’ve created something that’s brand new, and it didn’t exist a month ago. There was nothing about it in the world, and knowing that boggles my mind.

So why do I write? Because it’s fun. Because it lets me go somewhere else for the duration. Because there are new tales to tell. Because someone will read this story and like the characters, or one of the characters, or the storyline, or some of the writing and the thought of that makes me smile.

Why do you write? Share your thoughts.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

3 thoughts on “Why We Write

  1. Thx for sharing! I write because I have an over active imagination and I have so many ideas in my head that my brain is struggling for space ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

