Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

A Nice Quiet Reflecting Pool

5 Comments

It’s a few days past the halfway mark for NaNoWriMo, and I do believe that calls for a little reflection. My mom (who is wonderful and wise) taught me when I was growing up that everything is a learning experience, and the value in it is what we take away from it. So what have I learned so far this November? A few things.

  1. I’m competitive… but only with myself.
  2. I like setting goals that are a little bit higher than what’s expected. Whether or not this is because I hold myself to a higher standard, it’s something I’ve noticed both last November and this one.
  3. Writing every day has been my key to maintaining sanity this month. I’m so grateful for it.
  4. Even on days when I start out scrambling for every word, totally dissatisfied with the way it’s going because the writing has no flow, I can keep pushing.
  5. 2000 words a day at a minimum: at least a handful of them will prove to be okay.
  6. Having my own personal cheerleader during this month has been such a blessing. I highly recommend it.

 
Those are pretty good things to have learned. Even if my novel-in-progress turns out to be utter garbage, I can still take these lessons with me.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

5 thoughts on “A Nice Quiet Reflecting Pool

  1. Even with two published books, writing for me, is exactly that…writing πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. These are good lessons. I love doing a big challenge and learning more about myself and about stories and about writing. πŸ™‚ Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

