Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Full Disclosure

4 Comments

…I just realized that would be the perfect name for this book I’m writing. Wow. I might have to use that.

My full disclosure, though, was over the fact that against my better judgment, the story I’m writing is a love triangle romance. I’ve tried writing romances before and have failed. As a writer I have a much more evil streak than I do as an everyday human being. I like to put my characters into all manner of peril and tighten the ropes around their necks. It follows that most of my stories take a twist to the dark side of human emotions, and that doesn’t make for a very happy happily-ever-after or happy-for-now conclusion.

The task I’ve set for myself with this one is to let it be complicated but not unnecessarily ugly, to let the characters be themselves without me forcing them into contrived situations. It’s always seemed to me that falling in love is a perilous enough thing, and managing to stay in love is even more difficult. For my protagonist, that emotional journey is just as fraught with peril as the process of learning to be an adult. No, I’m not coupling a coming-of-age story on top of this. Enough’s enough, and my protagonist is in her early twenties already.

There will be no half-naked men with overly sculpted abs on this front cover. No werewolves, vampires, wizards, zombies, or other paranormal beings (although I reserve the right to use a good old-fashioned ghost if need be). There’s no time travel, no alien from another galaxy. Just humans being spectacularly human, and what I suspect could be classified as a moderate degree of heat.

I’m not sure I know what I’m doing, but I’m having a lot of fun finding out whether or not I’ll succeed. At least my characters have all started springing nicely to life, with distinct personalities, quirks, wants, and needs. I can’t ask for a whole lot more than that!

Fellow writers, how’s your work going? Most importantly, are we having fun yet?

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “Full Disclosure

  1. As much as I despise poorly done love triangles, I love them when all three relationships are well-developed and/or the story really gives weight to both ships. And I love the title!

    My progress has been small, but at least I’m taking care of myself, so I don’t feel bad, surprisingly. Not surprising because I should,b ut rather because I normally would.

    :hugs: More fun writing to you!

    Like

    • All the book titles have already been taken. I’ll think of something fitting after it’s done (the placeholder name is actually Backstage Pass, but that’s a series already. I’ll have to readjust). Full Disclosure is also already taken and I know names are always up for grabs and re-use, but I’d like something that’s just mine.

      O Romance Where Art Thou. If you’re ever up for reading, I’d love to run it past you. I’m glad you aren’t feeling bad about small progress. Remember, every step forward is a step forward. Not all circumstances require running leaps, you know?

      Like

Leave a Reply

