Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Coming Up for Air

Leave a comment

I like this flying-by-the-seat-of-my-pants business. I knew I would. My favorite type of writing is the type that happens organically, going wherever it wants to go regardless of where I want it to go.

Most of my writing has been done that way, although the pieces I’ve done most successfully (for a given measure of success) have been outlined. This time I not only switched genres but switched my entire story two days before I started. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen, but it’s going well.

Do you ever get those writing moments when the story arc suddenly unfolds and you know exactly where you need to go and a lot of how you’re going to get there? It’s wonderful, isn’t it? It’s like magic. This is one big reason why I love being a writer.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

