Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Getting ready for NaNoWriMo

13 Comments

In years past, when I didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo, I would get so tired of hearing about it. Maybe I just felt left out: all these people all over the world working apart-yet-together on this massive goal. I didn’t have the time for it. I didn’t want to work to someone else’s schedule, for heaven’s sake. I didn’t need the artificial encouragement. I found hundreds of reasons not to participate… and then last year, due to a little nudge from my long-time writing friend Amanda Davis, I decided to take a stab at it.

I had so much fun. That’s why I’m prepping for this year’s round of NaNo. My checklist so far:

  1. Pick a genre – check
  2. Pick a title – check
  3. Come up with a vague concept for a storyline – check
  4. Come up with a vague backstory for the protagonist – check
  5. Come up with a vague backstory for the other main character – check
  6. Start researching – check
     

Things left to do:

  • Outline the plot arc
  • Come up with the secondary complication
  • Decide how this is going to play out
  • Name the characters

I’m coming clean with things here. I’ve been very vocal about being completely done with paranormal stories, particularly paranormal romances. Yet here I am thinking of writing a sort of romance with a paranormal slant to it. What can I say? Never say never!

Which of you are going to participate in NaNoWriMo next month? I’m myself over there. If you’d like to be writing buddies, I will be extremely encouraging. If that’s something you need, don’t hesitate to add me.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

13 thoughts on “Getting ready for NaNoWriMo

  1. Oh hey, I just found your blog browsing the nano tag, but Amanda is actually the ML for my area! Small world! I’m glad you’ve come to the dark side, once you start nano-ing you can never turn back!

    Like

  2. I want to NaNo this year. I’m trying to get ideas and plans out now, but nothing is coming to me and I need to go to sleep because I have work tomorrow. Maybe something in my dreams will spark something in me…

    Good luck with your novel!

    Like

    • Let’s hope your dreams cooperate. I figure if I treat NaNo like a job (get up in the morning, get dressed, have my coffee, and get to work) that I’ll be able to produce something. I also know that’s just the start of it, but at least it’s a jumping-off point!

      Like

  3. I’m still buddies with you. Now I just have to figure out WHICH of the bazillion stories pestering my brain to write. :le sigh: My problem every year since I started was knuckling down for it. I’m going to have to pick a giftee/gift story and write that, I think. I can stay on the ball for those.

    Like

    • Yes, we’re still buddies! I have a ton of stories pestering me too, but one keeps bubbling up to the top so I’m going with that one. We’ll see how it goes. If I really get my ass in gear I can do an outline before November 1, then I’ll have some guidance for myself.

      Like

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo pre-writing assignment #2: Get to know your characters | Write on the World

  5. Pingback: Get to know your characters a little better | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

