Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

+5 Karma

Leave a comment

We live on the edge of an entrance to the East Bay Regional Park system. Our road is lovely and wide, with plenty of parking and a fairly mild set of hiking paths into and around the park. It’s quite popular with dog walkers. When we first moved in last year noticed lots of hikers struggling to share water out of bottles with their puppies. I thought it would be nice if we got the largest water bowl we could find and put it outside for the dogs.

I fill it just about every day, and it’s been pretty popular. I see lots of dogs making a beeline for it on their way out of the park, which makes me happy (being a cat owner means I don’t have dogs now, so I have to enjoy them vicariously). When I got the bowl I wrote “For thirsty park dogs” on it, so people would know we left it there intentionally.

The other day I got home and saw that there was something propped up behind the water bowl. On closer inspection, I realized what it was — a piece of cardboard, put there intentionally, with this message written on it:

THANK YOU!
SIGNED,
THIRSTY PARK DOGS STRUDLE, HOBBES, AND BUTTERS. 5/5/14.

The whole thing put such a smile on my face.

Have a great weekend, everyone, and happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there. Go on and be lovely to one another!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

