Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

After a break…

8 Comments

…I got back in the swing of things a little.

I’m afraid it’s all too expository, but I can’t have a flashback to something that happened before my protagonist was born when the whole thing is told from his point of view. I’m thinking this is why I stubbornly refused to work on this book the past week or so. I knew it would be difficult. And messy. An uphill hike.

Fret, fret. It’s what I do. Writing is hard! Getting words on the page can be easy, but getting good words on the page is another matter altogether. At least this is a start, and I have to remind myself it’s all very raw first draft. So it goes.

I hope you all enjoyed yesterday’s author interview. If you are or know of any small press authors who’d like eight questions of their own, send them my way.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

8 thoughts on “After a break…

  1. Writing is hard. But the important thing is getting those pages written – and not worry too much about the quality. It may take some work to get it around the way you want to, but eventually it will, as long as you keep writing. I wish you all the best with the continuation.

    Like

    • Thanks, Otto. I’m a bit of a compulsive editor, so I know I’ll be able to finesse the words into what I want sooner or later. I haven’t been all that inspired lately, so just pushing my way through it to get where I need to go. I doubt I’ll make my self-imposed deadline, but that’s why I’m such a big fan of this Douglas Adams quote: “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

      Like

  2. Don’t feel bad. I’m not really ficcing at all, just poetry. It’s my own personal way of walking out of the fret zone and isn’t really a sign of healthy internal space. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

