Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

All in the name of research

6 Comments

I was writing the other day, as I do, and got to a point where I needed a character to fold an origami crane. Since I’m a very method-actory writer, I stopped to figure out how to do it myself so I could write it properly. I got a little distracted.

For the rest of the weekend.

My table is now littered with origami. It’s supposed to be meditative, so I’ve taken my time and let my mind wander. I don’t know if I’m closer to opening up the box I wrote myself into with this, but at least I’ve been having fun.

origami

That’s just a small sample of what I did (and yes, that’s crane iteration #6 on top of the small box). Creative pursuit or waste of time? It did come with that “aha” moment, and I’m of the opinion that any skill we can learn has value. Whether it’s writing, drawing, or folding pieces of paper into shapes, we’re still building something. How can that be bad?

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

6 thoughts on “All in the name of research

  1. Love it! I played with origami when I was little and loved it. Might even get back to that…

    Like

Leave a Reply

