Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Queen of Procrastination

2 Comments

Today turned out to be a tough writing day. I was in the middle of a scene I didn’t want to write for a number of reasons, but since bolts of lightning about things slated to happen later in the book haven’t struck yet (and because I like things to evolve in an organic nature), I didn’t want to jump ahead to something that might be easier. Like getting through everyday life, I have to see how this all works out before I can write more.

Because it was difficult, I turned into the Queen of Procrastination. I did everything but write. Oh, I turned out a sentence here and a sentence there, which was all well and good, but I couldn’t get into the flow and groove of the scene I wanted to write.

Me: I’m going to settle down now and write.
Me: (get up and get an orange, a cup of coffee, check the laundry, answer some emails)
Me: There. That showed ’em.

In the glamorous life of a stay-at-home writer, I had the dreaded grocery run chore hanging over my head. It wasn’t until I got back from that and sat down that the words started bubbling out the way they were supposed to. Of course, that was also time to start cooking and make phone calls and greet my sweetheart, but I’m determined and even though I spent most of the day thinking I was going to have to settle for about 650 words, I reached my goal and feel pretty good about it.

Editing passes may tell a different story, but I prefer to live in the moment instead of in fear of future me not liking what I’ve done.

How do you motivate yourself to write on those don’t-want-to days?

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Queen of Procrastination

  1. If I succeed, it’s usually because I told myself, just write [insert # of words, sentences, or minutes]. Tiny numbers.

    5 minutes. 100 words. 7 sentences.

    Just write SOMETHING. One sentence. One honest to goodness, I don’t hate it sentence. Just write one. If I can break the block, usually something bigger happens. If it doesn’t, at least I percolate something bigger and can write more the next day.

    Like

    • Yeah. Some days, shut up and write is my mantra. I like to leave off with something new at least started, so I don’t have to stare at a blank page the next day. A sentence or a paragraph, something to keep things going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

