Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Making Time Count

4 Comments

I’ve noticed that the busier I am, the stronger my tendency to get more things done. It’s another method of self-motivation for me. Today I had virtually no time to write, but I made the time I needed to meet my word count.

I’ve given myself until April 12 to complete the first draft. Deadlines are apparently another self-motivator.

Now for the good stuff. A couple weeks ago I heard an interview with the author Anna Quindlen. She likened adult characters to a set of matryoshka dolls: they have many layers, and you can peel back the outer layer and still have a wealth of characterization beneath. Younger characters have fewer layers to draw on. I loved that analogy, and it’s been on my mind.

To make a long story short, I love my adult characters. I love their layers, and I love the shells and armor they wear. It’s tempting to want to explore them further, but this is a young adult novel and because of that the adults are viewed through the protagonist’s eyes. This is an exercise in restraint for me. Writing the adult stories is so tempting, but I’m holding off. The teen protagonist’s story is every bit as valid, every bit as exciting.

I love all my characters. I will tell all their stories, in time.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “Making Time Count

  1. I love this! I feel your pain and I hope that you are able to build beautiful lives around these characters. They really do take on a life of their own.

    Like

    • Thank you! This is a sequel, so it’s like writing fanfiction for some of my favorite characters! I guess if I didn’t love the writing, I wouldn’t be doing it. (Don’t even get me started on spending my whole vacation looking for people who looked like my characters…)

      Like

  2. I also find I work more productively when I have too much to do. Now, if I can capitalize on that today!

    I love deadlines when they are externally imposed, though I’ve found internally imposed ones fail to motivate me the same way. (I sure wish they would.)

    Congrats on meeting yours! And I love your teen characters, even if I too get very curious about some of those adults. :grins: Talk to you soon!

    Like

    • Good luck on the capitalizing! I am the world’s laziest writer if I don’t have at least some deadline or goal to work toward. I will let stories languish for years. I have a short 5-6k piece due for submission by the end of May and I’m looking at my book deadline thinking sure, I can meet both those dates. No problem, right?

      Like

Leave a Reply

