Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

I’m My Own Evil Overlord

2 Comments

I think I finally have my writing groove back. About 6k words in the past 2 days. I’ve talked about word count before, and it’s not my favorite gauge of progress.

That stated, I have to add that it’s becoming my favorite tool to keep me honest with myself. When I did NaNo back in November, I was really cruising on my word count goals. I’ve been having so much trouble getting very many words out at all lately, so I went back and revisited what made November so successful for me. The long and short of it is getting back to treating writing like the occupation it is, which means working regularly and diligently and without distraction. I sit in a corner of my home where the wifi doesn’t work and just let go of any expectations other than getting out at least 2500 words a day.

It’s not that hard. Somewhere in the course of writing, the part of me that acts as evil overlord, pep talker, and task master simply fades into the background and my creative unfettered writing half takes over and has fun. One of my favorite things in fiction writing is when I look down at something I’ve just produced and think wow, I didn’t see that one coming or that sure wasn’t planned, but it works. That’s when I know things are flowing the way they should. That’s what makes me happy.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “I’m My Own Evil Overlord

  1. This is brilliant and I admire you for figuring out what to do then actually making yourself do it.

    I NEED to be my own evil overlord. Hm… Let’s give it a shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

