Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Quick Question: Reviews

4 Comments

Authors,

Would you rather see a negative review or no review? Personally I like to know what I’m doing wrong as well as right, but I’m not sure how other people feel. No one is going to like everything we write. Sometimes, nobody will like anything we write, but we can’t let it stop us.

While we’re on the subject, what kinds of things do you like to read/write in reviews? I will always talk about things I liked and didn’t like about the story. I’ll praise good writing to the heavens. I generally don’t leave concrit in a review unless it’s asked for. In some cases I’ll write spoilers, but I generally prefer to talk about my reaction to the book as a whole. How about you?

(I have so many books on my to-be-read shelf right now. Drowning in books isn’t a bad way to go, though.)

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “Quick Question: Reviews

  1. It is a difficult thing for me to accept criticism. And though I would wish to shun any negativity that came my way, I am, at 43, an amateur writer in need of molding and polishing. Perhaps someday, should I be blessed to oft-published, well-read, and followed by masses, sifting through the critiques of critics to read only those reviews that are offer a positive end will be my luxury.

    Until then, I’ll welcome the negativity even as I’m gritting my teeth, silently scorning those who dare say such things. If I’m to get to the pinnacle, this will be a necessary endurance.

    Like

    • Let me lend you my flameproof suit, then, because these days with the internet being what it is, people are much quicker to criticize than to praise. Praise requires thoughtfulness. Criticism requires less.

      There are lots of ways to point out the less-than-stellar stuff. I hope you’ve got a writing partner or a beta reader or an editor who knows how to craft constructive criticism your way. These are the people who will help you most on your path toward being polished and molded.

      Like

  2. I like reasoned reviews. Whether they have good or bad impressions, they give the reasons for the reader’s impressions.

    Like

    • I like reasoned reviews too, and always try to leave them.

      I’ve had more bad (or less-than-great) reviews than good for my last published story. It filled me with self-doubt for about a minute, because I can only take them seriously if they’re reasoned. Most of them weren’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

