Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Blogging

2 Comments

You must create a social platform!
A social platform doesn’t matter.

I keep hearing both arguments. My twitter feed is inundated by buy my book, buy my book pleas. It’s also overrun by people giving all manner of writing advice, of the unsolicited variety. I can’t and won’t do either of those things, because I believe twitter is a terrible platform for any kind of sales. It plays to today’s limited attention span.

Brevity can be a beautiful thing. I see a lot of brilliant 140-character statements, but I prefer blogging. Here, I can be thoughtful. I can preview what I’m writing before I publish it (and as a former editor, I have so much appreciation for that PREVIEW function). My general feeling about twitter is that it’s a giant time suck. I’d rather be writing fiction. The phrase shut up and write has been a mantra for me since January, which explains the paucity of my presence on twitter. I’m convinced I’m terrible at it anyway.

Lately I’ve been going through a quiet phase. The tail end of winter is usually like that for me. It’s a relic from growing up in New England, where spring was always such a faraway tease at this time of year. It’s also a relic from spending several decades in western Oregon, where by February it’s rained for about five months straight.

Yesterday I picked up my copy of Art & Fear: Observations on the Perils (and Rewards) of Artmaking. It’s been a number of years since I read it, so I figured it was time. Even though the book is geared toward visual artists, it applies to any creative pursuit. After I’m done with it this time, I’ll let you all know if I still find it as relevant as I have in the past.

Back to work for me! It’s raining here in northern California. This is all old comfort now. Time to cuddle up in my favorite chair and get some writing done.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Blogging

  1. I think social media only works if you love it and it’s a form you’re comfortable with. I mostly just mirror to Twitter. I enjoy it when I go for a few months using, but inevitably I go a year or two between having any desire to use it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

