Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

When Inspiration Strikes

2 Comments

Lately, I’ve been logging a lot of miles. Hiking is my exercise of choice, and I’m lucky to have an enormous regional park just outside my door. I’m hiking at least a couple miles every day.

I don’t tell anyone this to get a pat on the back. The reason I’m bringing it up is because lately, I’ve been getting the best bolts of idea lightning during these hikes. I always have my phone with me so I can write down those nuggets of inspiration that strike.

People often ask writers where we get the ideas for our stories. As far as I’m concerned, I don’t know. These ideas just show up. Sometimes they’re fully formed and other times they’re just concepts, but if they’re good enough to make me pause and record them, I know they have the potential to be keepers.

I even restarted the book I’m working on based on one of these nature-driven epiphanies, and I’m so much happier with it. It’s less awkward and a genuine joy to write, rather than a struggle. I knew I’d find that place eventually, and I’m glad it happened sooner rather than later.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “When Inspiration Strikes

  1. The ideas that just come up suddenly are the best! Usually those are better than the ones you force yourself to come with something.
    And ow, sometimes my blogposts get delay because the ideas are ther but I couldn’t think of the title, or the title I thought of are not good enough. I love it when a title finally hits me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

