Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Stubborn minor characters!

4 Comments

Happy start to the new year, everyone. I’ve been busy editing, just finishing a pass on the current novel. As I go through (and as I get feedback from first readers), I’m always fascinated to see which of my characters really shine. They’re not always the protagonist and I find that fascinating.

One thing I’ve been doing during this edit process is a little bit of redistribution. I realized that a lot of important things were being relegated to two of the supporting cast when really, those things needed to be spread around. I’m very good at keeping a cast of characters small, but less good at including more people in more important ways. When I go back and read, that brings to light the question of whether those other characters are necessary. In this book they are, so I needed to give them more to do.

Do you writers ever find minor characters stealing the limelight? It happens to me all the time. (Sometimes I just write them their own books afterward. That way, everybody’s happy.)

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “Stubborn minor characters!

  1. Yes, I do. I have a feisty minor character stealing the show every time she appears and I have tried to use that exuberance for my main character who is feeling a bit flat.

    Like

    • Ha! I once wrote a book where the scene-stealer was the main character’s brother (who happened to be dead). Talk about in-your-face, bro.

      I love minor characters. They have no idea they’re labeled that way, since they all have lives of their own on some virtual plane of reality.

      Like

  2. Yes! Mostly in fanfic. Right now, I’ve had to put off the next chapter of Son o’ de Guild and tear my hair out over it because Jean Grey outgrew her bounds. Frustrated grumbling ensues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

