Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Water

6 Comments

Water. I’m drawn to it, refreshed by it, invigorated by it. Last week I went to Lake Chabot, my nearest body of water. It’s a lovely lake. We took a hike, about 4 miles round trip. Along the way I was reminded by the graffiti that even out in nature, we’re not far from evidence of the city.

IMG_4980a

(Click any image to view it full size.)

In contrast to the lake’s quiet, today I went to the ocean. One of my favorite spots on any coast is Half Moon Bay, about 25 miles south of San Francisco.

IMG_5086a

The bay side, as you can see, is placid and lovely. Children love the water, and it’s a treat to watch them play by its side. If you keep walking past the Pillar Point marsh, you come upon a sweet little beach down low and bluffs above. You also come upon the surf spot known as Mavericks. The shorebirds are nonplussed by this.

IMG_5050a

The further you go, the more extreme the shoreline becomes.

IMG_5067a

The rocks here are punishing, but stunning. They call it the Boneyard for a reason.

IMG_5051a

If you’ve been here for a while you probably know I follow big wave surfing. Today, there were intrepid souls out there. The waves were about 10-11′, I’d guess. Messy, heavy, and choppy, it’s still a pleasure to watch someone drop in on one.

IMG_5055a

As I was leaving, there were more surfers heading out. It’s serious business, being in the water out there. I have a lot of respect for these athletes and their skill. As always, I have a lot of love for the ocean.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

6 thoughts on “Water

  1. Yes, water feeds my soul as well. Love the surf shot. But you can guess my favorite- Half Moon Bay. 🙂

    Like

  2. Ah, so beautiful! I’m afraid I understand Laurie all too well. I like the idea of water. I like to look at it. Unfortunately, I’m worse than a cat if I actually get in it. Can’t stand the stuff in the wild. Ah, well. At least I can soak in the tub and read books about water and rain and what-have-you and pretend I was made of sterner stuff.

    I love your pictures.

    Like

    • I can’t imagine not loving it. It takes all types! I have a healthy respect for the ocean, considering I almost drowned in it when I was a kid, but I never let that stop me. The Pacific is generally too cold for more than sticking a toe in without a wetsuit, which I don’t have, but I love the smell of it and the sound of the surf and the birds and (if you’re in Half Moon Bay) the foghorn every eight seconds, day and night. On some primal level, it all soothes me.

      Like

      • Well, your imagination works pretty well. As someone who loves it in imagination but not in practice, I can tell you your portrayal of a character (Laurie) that hates getting wet was spot-on. I’ve been that way my whole life, so I actually know.

        Like

        • Come visit and I’ll take you to the shore and let you stay dry while appreciating how gorgeous it is.

          I did go through a phase of being bored with the beach, because I grew up with it right there and when things are commonplace they lose their luster. I haven’t had the luxury of the ocean at my fingertips for a lot of years now, so it’s more precious than ever. Just had to wear theat coat inside out for Laurie.

          Like

Leave a Reply

