Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Seasonal Greetings

Leave a comment

I hope each and every one of you reading this is having a wonderful December.

This is my first winter in California. As much as I loved Oregon the whole time I lived there and as much as I still love it… the weather here is so much better.

People ask me all the time if Portland is really like it’s portrayed on Portlandia. The show, of course, paints Portland in the broadest of strokes. It’s a comedy, and that’s what comedies do. But the best of them carry a grain of truth along with the satire, and in those moments I’d say yes, the show reflects what it’s like to be a quirky, independent Oregonian. They really do wear shorts in the winter along with down jackets, and socks with Birkenstock sandals. In general (as much as I hate to perpetuate stereotypes), the Portland liberal community is thoughtful and caring.

I’ve found the people here in the Bay area to be the same in a lot of ways (only they dress with more fashion sense, generally). A few days ago, though, I had to laugh. Our home is right on the edge of a park, so there are people out there all the time walking dogs, hiking, riding bicycles, birdwatching, and so on. The day was beautiful, the temperature about 65 degrees. I was thinking about how gorgeous it is here, how great the weather is, how nice and warm and sunny in contrast to Portland, where it had been cold and wet and icy because after all, it’s December.

December, I guess, gets into peoples’ blood, because on that beautiful sunny warm Christmas Eve day, I saw a group of people walking toward the park in full winter regalia: heavy jackets, hats, scarves. I thought: I seem to always find myself in a place where people can’t seem to figure out how to dress appropriately for the weather. But after spending so many years in Portland, that just makes me feel right at home.

Happy holidays, everyone. I hope you’re enjoying a relaxed time with loved ones. My best to all of you!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

