Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Editing

Leave a comment

It’s the weirdest thing, but I’m having an absolute blast editing this novel. Because looking over my work on multiple platforms helps me find different things that need attention, I’ve read on my laptop, my phone, and now I have this one on my Kindle as well (thank you, Scrivener and Amazon).

Next stop: paper. I guess once editing is in the blood, it’s there to stay. I did technical and copy editing professionally for a number of years, and it’s actually something that runs in my family (my dad was an editor for a long time). Although he never edited fiction the process runs along the same lines, so I’ve learned a lot from him. Last night we had a conversation about critique groups and beta readers. He wanted to know what types of people were reading this novel of mine, so I told him that my first readers were an eclectic group with varied backgrounds. Some are writers, some are not, but every reader is going to come to a book with a different background. I quite enjoy hearing all the differing opinions and getting as much feedback as I can… so I can edit again. He was big on the value of first-timers looking it over. Fortunately, I have a few of those!

In the middle of editing this novel, I went back and did a little editing on a different novel. I had what I thought was a long and unwieldy prologue. I ended up chopping the thing up by scenes and depositing those scenes in appropriate places around the novel. I also chopped two sections from it that didn’t really buy anything for anybody (look, I’m letting my ruthless inner editor out to play with a scythe in her hand) and sent it off to a reader.

Next up will be writing synopses and queries. Wish me luck!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

