Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

After the Story’s Written

2 Comments

There’s always a kind of a letdown when a story’s done. It’s easy to get into a kind of writing paralysis where my brain goes what next? Where do I go? What world do I invent? Which characters will populate it? Or do I read, like I have been, four books in the past week or two? I know only too well that the story isn’t even close to finished after the first draft. There are first readers to hear from, and feedback to incorporate, and there will probably be a lot to change. Second drafts, edit passes, third drafts… While I’m waiting for feedback, it’s easy to get into a state of inertia. I don’t want to lose the momentum from the story that’s been told, but I’m hesitant to dive into the next project right away because I don’t want to lose the connection I have with the story I just wrote.

Yeah, that’s what I call a conundrum. I wish I was organized enough to have a whole series of projects sitting on the back burner just waiting their turn. I have a few, including one I started writing for a submission prompt and realized I’d completely overshot the word count maximum by an order of magnitude. Maybe I’ll challenge myself to rework that this month. See if I can get it finished by the end of the year.

What do you writers do when you’re finished? Do you take a well-deserved break, take time to regroup, or do you forge bravely ahead?

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “After the Story’s Written

  1. Usually I end up writing snippets and flashes because I find I can’t seem to make myself switch those gears and lose my connection to the project until the beta notes come back. It’s weird, but if I have something out to beta, I’m no good for heavy-duty writing, even if I DO have projects lined up the ying-yang’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

