Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Too busy to write, too busy not to.

2 Comments

Because getting ready to move to another state and running an annual fanfic exchange clearly aren’t enough, I’ve just started a new writing project. I’m so excited about this one — it’s been a long, long time in the works — and being motivated about it feels so good.

In the meantime, the clock is ticking down on time left to do anything in Oregon. I know some of the things I really wanted to do, like take a last trip to the beach, are becoming impossible. I remind myself that I won’t be all that far from Stinson Beach or Muir Beach in the new place, even closer to Ocean Beach, and there will be a thousand and one new things and places to explore. For a while it seemed like the beginning of August was a lifetime away, that I had all the time in the world to do things and get there. Yesterday one of my dear friends brought me flowers and a goodbye note, and that pretty much cemented the reality of things. We’re moving from the home we’ve been in for twenty-two years.

Today I’m giving a friend all my outdoor plants in pots, and next week I’ll get my houseplants to another friend. We’ve donated a lot of furniture to Habitat for Humanity. I’m going through clothes and trimming down what I’ll bring, trying not to buy any more food but using what we have, and so on. I know that when things finally happen they happen quickly.

In the midst of it all, my brain decided it was definitely time for this new writing project. What this proves to me is that the busier we are, the more we find time to do. Those endless days when August seemed so far away? I spent them wasting time. Now, when I have the least time for them, the words and ideas are flowing.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Too busy to write, too busy not to.

  1. HA! Love this! I totally understand about all of a sudden having words flow like crazy when I’m in the midst of crazy going on in my life. But I think we need that stress release more even then.

    So glad to hear moving is going smoothly…for the most part. 😉

    <3!

    Like

Leave a Reply

