Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Lazing on a Sunny Afternoon

4 Comments

It’s never a dull day in the Oregon summertime, especially when not just one but a trio of peafowl have moved into your yard. Some of you may remember Richard Parker, the adult male peacock, who likes to spend time in my pear tree and on my fencepost. He’s no longer the only one. There’s a juvenile male we’re calling Young Master Wayne (thank you, Viv, for the naming suggestion) and a peahen we’ve dubbed Boo. The other night Richard Parker and Young Master Wayne were up on the roof chasing each other in circles. It was actually pretty funny. They’re fairly graceless birds, although I would never say it to them.

Today I was sitting in my living room after getting in from running a lot of pre-move errands, and I felt something on my foot. We have five cats, and they brush against me all the time so I wasn’t that alarmed, at least not until I looked down to see a lizard curled up on top of my foot. He (or she) was certainly new. I’m surprised my cats didn’t get to him first. He scurried off, and I wasn’t sure where he went. About five minutes later I saw him on the carpet. Luckily I had an empty venti-sized cold cup from Starbucks right at hand, and after a bit of finagling I was able to convince him to crawl right in so I could let him back out into the yard. I’m pretty sure he was a northern alligator lizard. Either that or he hitchhiked back with me from my weekend in Tucson. Either way, he’s free in my yard for the time being.

Peacocks eat lizards. I distracted my trio with fresh blueberries to give the lizard a head start at escaping. But I thought it might be nice to show everyone exactly what it’s like to be besieged by peafowl, so here goes.

1. Young Master Wayne about to let himself in the front door. I swear he would if he could.

IMG_4654-001

2. Once I got close with the camera (I apologize for the shadows, it’s the wrong time of day for photography but I take what I can get), he turned rump (he has a tail, but it’s not beautiful and exotic like Richard Parker’s) and climbed the front steps, where he posed dramatically for me.

IMG_4657-001

3. In the meantime, Boo decided to get into the act. She’s got an affinity for our side deck. I’m not sure why. It’s boring. But at least she can look into our dining room from there, maybe? Here she is heading into position.

IMG_4660-001

4. My cat Jack always puts himself between me and the peafowl. He’s either full of bravado or mightily protective. When they get too close he hisses, but usually he’s just this nonchalant about the whole affair.

IMG_4663-001

5. Finally, back outside the front door, Boo decided to help herself to some cat kibble from the bowl the baby raccoons muddied this morning. She was entirely nonplussed by seeing me there with the camera.

IMG_4666-001

That’s my day so far. With the way it’s been going, I won’t be surprised to find some bats inside the house later, or maybe some quail will get in, or maybe the baby raccoons will have figured out how doors work by tonight. Wish me luck.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

4 thoughts on “Lazing on a Sunny Afternoon

  1. You’re a magnet for the dramatists. I just love all the personality showing through in these photos. Blessings on a night safe from fowl and raccoons and all other animals that go bump in the night!

    Like

    • They all have a flair for the incredibly dramatic. They’re super friendly, though, all three of the peafowl, and will follow me when I walk around the yard.

      Must be the magic of fresh blueberries.

      Like

  2. I love that you have random peafowl wandering into your yard. They are gorgeous.

    Like

    • I told my sweetheart that was the last time I was leaving town without him, lest two more peafowl show up next time I’m gone. I can see it all multiplying exponentially. Sometimes, it feels like peacock day care over here. They dig little ruts in the dirt and bark dust and nestle there during the day and it really is an odd feeling to look out the front door and be faced with a peacock staring back in expectantly.

      Hopefully, no more lizards in the house, although we have enough spiders and house flies to keep a whole lizard entourage happy and well-fed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

