Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

The Voices in My Head

2 Comments

Because it wasn’t hot enough in the Pacific northwest, I decided to go to the desert for a few days. Sadly, I traveled without my camera but had I taken photos, everything would have had a haze of heat drifting from it.

I quite enjoy traveling alone and always have. Some folks I know are afraid to do it, for whatever reason, and I’m sure those are all valid. A long time ago I discovered that even when I travel by myself, I always have an entourage with me. It’s those fictional characters living in my head. They like to see me safely from place to place so I can live to write them another day.

When people talk about the voices in their head, I have to nod knowingly.

I actually wrote on the flight home yesterday, which is a rarity for me. I’m trying to go repeat-genre with another detective story, and there was no time like the present. Especially after a two-hour delay at LAX. One thing I like about that airport (at least the wing I was in) is that there are plenty of power outlets all around, so I was able to charge my phone which has been mysteriously draining not just power but apparently its ability to follow the simplest of instructions, like “turn off.” Time for a new one, but I’ll wait until we move.

In the meanwhile, I offer up a little change of pace. This is the fourth year that I’ve been co-moderating a fanfiction gift exchange. If any of you are fanfiction writers and interested, all the information is right here. (If you’re not a member of the AO3 and need an invitation to join, just let me know, I’ll hook you up with one.)

P.S. While I was away, two more peafowl joined our resident peacock. We now have a peahen, a juvenile male, and our adult male. It’s starting to look like a zoo around here!

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

2 thoughts on “The Voices in My Head

  1. I can never decide if I love it when the voices speak or whether they are waaaaaaay too pushy. But glad you got some more writing done. I love your writing.

    Like

    • Thank you, #1 Fan! ♥ I don’t know if that story will go anywhere, but at least i made words appear on the page where none had been before. Today I have a new and far more exciting idea, so we’ll see what happens with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

