Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Just Tell Your Story

6 Comments

I’ve been thinking a lot about the world of writers and writing. I know there’s a lot of competition in the world and a lot of spite and jealousy between authors, a lot of backstabbing, a lot of griping and sniping. Maybe I’m naive, but I’ve always believed that there’s enough room out there for everyone who wants to write to just go ahead and do it. There are readers for everything: every style, every genre, every piece of work.

There are people who enjoy my writing and people who don’t. Some people appreciate it while others fail to see what’s good about it… and that’s just fine. No one’s work will be universally loved; if that’s what we’re looking for as writers we’re bound to be disappointed. Of course we don’t love the rejection letters as much as we love the acceptances, but we have to take them for what they are and learn from them. The same rule holds for critiques. Everybody’s got an opinion, and who am I to say one is less valid than another just because I might not like it?

Maybe I feel this way because I’m new as a published author. Ask me in a couple years if I still feel the same way, but right now there are people who’ll read my work, people who won’t, people who might some day but for whatever reason say not right now. All of that’s okay by me. What I really want is for everyone who has a story in their heart to go out there and tell it. You will find a reader for it! Don’t worry about comparing yourself or your style to anybody else. Be your own unique voice and write the stories you love to write, and there will be readers who love to read them.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

6 thoughts on “Just Tell Your Story

  1. Great Post! Winnicott writes that creativity is between the inner and outer world- he calls it the transitional space. I think writing fits into that category of between subjectivity and objectivity. It reflects the inner and outer world of reality, thus no two writers will be alike.

    Like

    • Hi, Eli. It’s so easy to sit in our little corners and stress out over what happens to our babies once we send them out into the world, but I really do think there’s an audience for every piece of work. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  2. is the book you published a novel?

    Like

  3. Amen. This is something I wish some writers could hear, because it’s so true.

    Like

    • Just doing my bit to spread the word. When I think about how much competition and jealousy there is out there, I ask myself: are any two people actually writing the same story? No. There’s room for all of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

