Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

Morning in the Desert

Leave a comment

If you wake up early enough in the Sonoran Desert, you’ll see a lot of things you might not get to see otherwise. I was lucky enough to catch the King and Queen of Saguaro Cactus out for an early morning stroll last week while visiting family. You know how those cacti are, they like to go incognito, so I was happy to snap this shot of them without being seen.

IMG_4540-001

(Maybe it’s lucky I got out of there unscathed. They were at least 20′ tall.)

In all seriousness, I was delighted to see the desert in bloom. I’ve been there many times, but never when it was so lush and green. I also made friends with this dude (we named him Buddy, he’s a gopher snake):

IMG_4528-001

He wasn’t the least bit interested in this lucky now-you-see-me, now-you-don’t, how-about-that-camouflage desert cottontail:

IMG_4474-001

If you’ve never seen the desert flowering, it’s really a riot of color and texture. Check out the catspaw and the gorgeous reddish buckthorn flower.

IMG_4483-001

IMG_4464-001

I even tried to explain to my dad, a dyed-in-the-wool New Englander, about how the quality of light is different in the west, and markedly different in the southwest. I’m not sure I made myself clear, but at least I tried. Next time I go back all the flowers will be gone, but other miracles of nature will be occurring and if I’m smart, I’ll bring my camera again to document them.

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

