Dreaming in Character

G.L. Jackson

For the Record

Leave a comment

I might as well say this right here in the open.

I am not interested in making money blogging. Especially not by the blogging equivalent of cold-call telemarketing. Honestly, I don’t care how fascinatingly padded with “real” entries the rest of your blog is. If you’re trying to get me to sign up for your internet marketing pyramid scheme, please don’t bother. You might also want to note this about your blog’s content from the WordPress Terms of Service: the Content is not spam, is not machine- or randomly-generated, and does not contain unethical or unwanted commercial content designed to drive traffic to third party sites or boost the search engine rankings of third party sites.

Just so we’re clear.

I have a long checkered past with people who try to make money off me through unwanted marketing. I could write a primer called Fun with Telemarketers: 100 Ways to Make Your Day (and Ruin Theirs). These methods go beyond the simple “screaming into the phone” or “threatening to report them to the authorities.” I once kept a telemarketer on the line with me for almost 45 minutes asking questions about their offer and the details of the credit line they wanted to extend me before I got bored and ended things. I thank the telephony gods every day for caller ID, and only wish there was an equivalent internet caller ID. There isn’t, but at least it leaves me something to dream about.

I very much appreciate everyone who stops by to read my blog, don’t get me wrong. If you’re here and let me know, I’ll always stop by your legitimate blog and let you know I was there. But if you’re really only trying to sell me something, I can’t make that same promise. Also, I probably will not hesitate to report you.

To sum it up, this is about how I feel about the recent onslaught of How to Make Money Blogging! blogs stopping by trying to use my blog to drive traffic to their sites:

IMG_3855-001

Author: G.L. Jackson

Writer, reader, amateur photographer. Mostly, I just like pretending to be a different person each day of the week.

Leave a Reply

